Verdict
Try it only if you already like Ragnarok and are happy for the game to play much of itself; skip it if you want hands-on PC combat or published purchase odds.
Strengths
- Free to play on Windows through Steam, with progress shared across Southeast Asia platforms, per Steam and Gravity's FAQ.
- Steam says classes can be changed at any time and skill resets are always free.
- Gravity says auto-combat and auto-pathfinding handle repetitive clearing and travel, which some Steam reviewers like.
- Gravity answers the spending and interface complaints in public and says it removed the Combat Power value.
Weaknesses
- Steam labeled the all-time user reviews Mostly Negative when checked on Oct. 17, 2026.
- Purchases include chance-based items, and we found no published odds or prices.
- Gravity calls the interface a compromise between mobile and PC, with no date for fixes.
Ragnarok: The New World is a free-to-play, open-world MMORPG from Gravity Game Vision for PC and mobile, and this Ragnarok: The New World review asks one narrow question. Is it worth your time on the Southeast Asia server, reached through Steam? The Short Version: try it only if you like Ragnarok and are happy for the game to play much of itself. Everyone else should skip it. Steam labeled its user reviews Mostly Negative when checked on Oct. 17, 2026, and we found no published odds for its chance-based purchases. Best for: nostalgic, automation-friendly players. Skip if: you want hands-on PC combat or known drop rates.
Basis of this review: no recorded play session backs it, so this is a documentary review rather than a hands-on test. It uses Steam, Gravity's Aug. 17 FAQ and attributed published reviews for the Southeast Asia server. The FAQ transcription dates from Oct. 15; Steam's label and official notices were rechecked Oct. 17. Install and login steps are in our Ragnarok: The New World Steam setup guide.
What kind of game is Ragnarok: The New World?
It leans on automation that Gravity defends in public. Steam lists eight classes, including a new Druid, and says they can be changed at any time with free skill resets. In its Steam FAQ of Aug. 17, 2026, Gravity says auto-combat and auto-pathfinding let the system handle repetitive monster-clearing and traversal, leaving time for builds, teamwork instances and PvP.
The same FAQ concedes the game is "not a purely native PC game," so its interface compromises between mobile and PC. Keyboard shortcuts and simpler menus are under discussion, with "no confirmed schedule." Progress is shared across Southeast Asia platforms, but Steam offers only that server, and Gravity warns of latency depending on location and provider.
How do progression and spending work?
The Wallet Check: Steam lists the game as free to play with in-app purchases and "chance based in-game purchases." We found no prices, odds or drop rates on the Steam page or in Gravity's FAQ, so the real cost of progress is unknown.
Gravity's FAQ makes publisher claims. It says it moved some consumables out of the Starstone Shop, that players can earn up to 6,580 Starstones a week through two activities, that trading fees can be "as low as 1%," and that it removed the Combat Power value. It also says exploration rewards alone can refine a full gear set to +10.
No logged GameSelecto play session checks those claims. Steam user reviews disagree over whether spending determines progress, so the free route is described rather than demonstrated. Unpublished odds remain the cost you cannot see.
What do players and critics say?
On Oct. 17, 2026, Steam's store page labeled all reviews Mostly Negative. That label is a dated store summary, not a GameSelecto score.
Attributed Steam user reviews describe auto-play in opposite ways: some call it dull, while others value a game that can progress during work. Other reviews praise Ragnarok's setting or report connection problems. These accounts are useful warning signs, not a representative survey and not independently verified findings.
GamingPH's Christine Cloma reviewed the closed pilot beta (page undated, URL from Nov. 2025; platform and server not stated). She praised upgraded visuals that keep the classic Ragnarok look and noted a small amount of experience could still be earned after the beta's "Battle Time" ran out, but found early-game loops repetitive and said Combat Power could overshadow builds. Gravity says it has since removed that value. That is a beta, not today's Steam build.
MeinMMO's Cedric Holmeier (July 14, 2026) wrote a trailer-based preview, before the listed Steam release. He said it feels somewhat like an identity crisis and doubted that devoted fans of the original would feel fully at home. Players in a slump who would join with their own guild or friends might enjoy it for a while, he wrote, but he expected a shop-funded free game and doubted it would last.
Metacritic lists no critic reviews and no Metascore as of Oct. 16, 2026. We found no independent in-depth review of the live Steam build. That leaves a thin evidence base: Gravity's documentation, dated store summaries, attributed user reports, a beta review and a pre-release preview.
Who should play it, and who should skip it?
Try it if you already love Ragnarok's look and want a free MMORPG where, by Gravity's account, auto-combat and auto-pathfinding handle the repetitive parts, if flexible classes and free skill resets appeal to you, or if you plan to play with a guild or friends. Skip it if you want hands-on mouse-and-keyboard combat, if chance-based purchases without published odds put you off, or if latency worries you, as Gravity warns of it.
Test your tolerance for autoplay before investing time or money; Gravity describes it as a central way to clear routine travel and combat.
The verdict holds until something changes: published odds, the keyboard shortcuts and simpler menus Gravity says it is discussing, or a recovery in recent Steam reviews. Steam still lists one announcement, the Aug. 17 FAQ. The official Southeast Asia site's rolling Hot Update notice includes an Oct. 17 correction to a Garden Gifts purchase limit; that notice does not establish that the interface changes are ready.
Is it pay-to-win? We cannot say: Gravity publishes no odds or prices we could read, and attributed user reports disagree over how much spending shapes progress.
Sources · checked Oct 15, 2026
- Steam store page, Ragnarok: The New World (Gravity Game Vision Limited): free to play, purchases, classes and global review label rechecked Oct. 17, 2026
- Gravity (Steam announcement Ragnarok: The New World Steam Launch Information & FAQ, posted Aug. 17, 2026; FAQ in six images, transcribed from the browser reading of Oct. 15, 2026, not reopened by this agent)
- Steam news hub for Ragnarok: The New World (one announcement, Aug. 17, 2026; count confirmed through the Steam news API on Oct. 16, 2026)
- Ragnarok: The New World official Southeast Asia site (Gravity Game Vision), announcement [October Update Preview] Sage & Rogue Arrive, posted Oct. 8, 2026; read Oct. 16, 2026
- GamingPH, Christine Cloma: Ragnarok: The New World Pilot Beta Review (closed pilot beta; page undated, URL from Nov. 2025; platform and server not stated)
- MeinMMO, Cedric Holmeier (July 14, 2026): Nachfolger von Ragnarok Online startet auf Steam (German original; headline translated: Successor to Ragnarok Online launches on Steam)
- Metacritic, Ragnarok: The New World (PC): no critic reviews, Metascore and user score listed as tbd
- Ragnarok: The New World official YouTube channel, First Global Full Gameplay Trailer Released (published Nov. 3, 2025); public YouTube oEmbed response confirmed title, channel and iframe on Oct. 17, 2026
- Gravity Game Vision, Hot Update Announcement, latest dated item Oct. 17, 2026; official article API read Oct. 17






